NEVADA MINIMUM WAGE & DAILY OVERTIME THRESHOLD INCREASES GO INTO EFFECT JULY 1ST
Each year, on or before April 1st, the Labor Commissioner issues the annual minimum wage and daily overtime bulletins, which announce the rates that go into effect on July 1st of that year. The Labor Commissioner has released the bulletins for 2023 and, like last year, employers can anticipate an increase to both the minimum wage rates and the daily overtime thresholds.
Assembly Bill 456, which was passed in 2019, provides for a $0.75 increase to the minimum wage each year until 2024. Beginning July 1, 2023, the minimum wage in Nevada will be $11.25 per hour for employees who are not offered qualifying health benefits and $10.25 per hour for those who are offered qualifying health benefits.
With the increase to the minimum wage rates, there is a corresponding increase to the thresholds for daily overtime. Nevada is one of several states that recognizes daily overtime (overtime for time worked over 8 hours in a 24-hour period) as well as overtime after 40 hours in a workweek. Beginning July 1st, employees who are offered qualifying health benefits and earn less than $15.38 per hour, and employees earning less than $16.88 per hour who are not offered qualified health benefits, are entitled to overtime whenever they work more than 8 hours in a 24-hour period or more than 40 hours in a workweek. Employees making at or above those threshold amounts are entitled to overtime only when they work more than 40 hours in a workweek.
|Copies of the minimum wage and daily overtime bulletins can be downloaded from our Member Portal along with other federal and state notices.|
Members who have our All-In-Two Labor Laws Poster and the annual poster update service can expect to receive an update for the minimum wage and daily overtime postings in the coming months.
Plan for More Changes in 2024
The two-tier minimum wage will be in effect through June 30, 2024. Ballot Question 2 was passed by voters during the 2022 General Election and eliminated the two-tier minimum wage beginning July 1, 2024. As of July 1, 2024, Nevada’s minimum wage will be $12.00 per hour regardless of whether an employee is offered qualifying health benefits or not.
That change does not change the requirement to pay daily overtime, when applicable. Beginning July 1, 2024, anyone making less than $18.00 per hour will be entitled to overtime after 8 hours in a 24-hour period or 40 hours in a workweek. Anyone making at or above $18.00 per hour will be entitled to overtime only when they work more than 40 hours in a workweek.
Join Our Mailing List
Sign up here to receive monthly email updates on the latest NAE news, HR issues, special events, training dates and more!