Nevada Employment Law
Nevada employment law covers a broad spectrum of topics that include minimum wage, lunch/rest breaks, overtime, vacation/sick leave, voting/jury duty leave, and discrimination. Because there are so many hoops to jump through, you or your employer may be unknowingly (or knowingly) violating Nevada labor laws. Here are some common workplace law violations:
Misclassification of Workers: Those labeled “exempt” are not required to receive overtime pay, so often employers will mislabel their employees. To determine an employee’s status, an analysis of salary level and job duties must be conducted. If you think your company requires assistance in classifying employees, the Nevada Association of Employers is here to help.
Working off the Clock: Plain and simple- you must be paid for the time that you put into work. This includes taking phone calls after work or on the weekend, doing an errand for your company, or attending an emergency meeting.
Workplace Safety: The Occupational Safety and Health Act (OSHA) requires employers to maintain a safe environment as well as educate employees on potential dangers in the workplace. Hazards can include poor lighting, lack of ergonomic design in work areas, or failure to guard moving parts. The Nevada Association of Employers knows it can be difficult to discuss these issues with a boss. We encourage you to call or email a complaint via the OSHA website if you feel there are hazards in your workplace. NAE can also help you navigate the labor laws in this instance.
Overtime Pay: Nevada legislation requires employers to pay workers a 150% wage if more than 40 hours are worked in a week. A prime example is when an employee works 37 hours one week, but 43 hours the next. Technically, they worked within the 80-hour threshold for that two-week pay period. This leads many to believe they are not qualified to receive overtime pay. However, the employer would have to pay 150% of the worker’s wage for the 3 hours they worked overtime, and the normal wage for the other 77 hours worked in that pay period. If there is confusion in your workplace about overtime pay, NAE can educate members on the proper allocation of pay when it is applicable.
Nevada labor laws can be confusing and often violated due to their complex nature. At the Nevada Association of Employers, we offer extensive reviews of your company’s employee handbook and practices to ensure they comply with current labor laws in Nevada. We also offer posters that spell out every labor law so they are in plain sight for employers and employees alike. Either way, our goal is to make sure your business is abiding to Nevada standards. For more information, contact the Nevada Association of Employers at 1 (775) 329-4241 or visit our contact page today.
Join Our Mailing List
Sign up here to receive monthly email updates on the latest NAE news, HR issues, special events, training dates and more!